Committees


COMMITTEES  


Associated Builders & Contractors Delaware is a member-driven organization. Members donate their time and expertise to serve on standing and special event committees, helping other members get the most from their membership.

The following is a list of ABC Committees and normal meeting times. Special event committees meet on an as needed basis before the event. ABC members are invited to join committees. Contact the ABC Delaware staff member listed under each committee for more information.


ABCares
Members make a difference in the community by giving time and effort to have a positive impact on the quality of life in the First State
Committee Chairperson: Sallie Ann Conner of Schneider Trailer & Container Rental sallie_conner@schneidertrailer.com
ABC Staff Contact: Jean Toman jtoman@abcdelaware.com   

Careers in Construction
Promote construction as a career with the development and implementation of programs with the high schools and middle schools.
Fourth Tuesday at 11:30 a.m. 
Committee Chairperson John Johnson, Karins Associates jjohnson@karinsengineering.com 
ABC Staff Contact: Ed Capodanno ecapodanno@abcdelaware.com  


Diversity

ABC is committed to supporting efforts to meet challenges and maximize opportunities in an increasingly diverse workforce with an industry that is welcoming to all people
Second Tuesday at 12 noon
Committee Chairperson: Kathy Stiller, Brightfields kstiller@brightfieldsinc.com
ABC Staff Contact: Jean Toman jtoman@abcdelaware.com 
 
Events
Oversee events and programs throughout the year including ABC Showcase, Student Awards Dinner, Crab Feast, Summer Golf Outing, and the Annual ABC Delaware Awards Dinner
Second Wednesday at 12 noon
Chairpersons: Leah Curran, Tri-Supply and Equipment lcurran@trisupplyandequipment.com 
Jean Elliott, Kencor Elevator  jelliott@kencorelevator
ABC Staff Contact: Jean Toman jtoman@abcdelaware.com

Education/Training 
Provide information on emerging trends in green technology to help Delaware become a healthier and more sustainable environment in which to live and work as well as identify and implement education programs and services that are of benefit to our members. 
Second Thursday at 11:30 a.m.
Committee Chairperson: Jeff DiSabatino of DiSabatino Construction Company jdisabatino@disabatino.com
ABC Staff Contact: Ed Capodanno ecapodanno@abcdelaware.com   
                                 Mike Matweychuk mmatweychuk@abcdelaware.com 

Kent/Sussex Events

Committee Chairperson: Neal Messick, Tri-Supply and Equipment nmessick@trisupplyandequipment.comMark Nauman, MacIntosh Engineering  mnauman@macintosheng.com
ABC Staff Contact: Charlie Timmons ctimmons@abcdelaware.com

Kent/Sussex Membership
Committee Chairperson:  John Easom, ACF Engineering jeasom@acfenv.com
Anthony Kendall, Magnum Electronics  anthony.kendall@magnumelectronics.com
ABC Staff Contact: Charlie Timmons ctimmons@abcdelaware.com

Legislative & Legal Rights
Advance the interests of all members by monitoring area labor relations cases and union activities while representing the interests of Merit Shop contractors and their employees in the policy making process of the government.
Fourth Thursday at 8:30 a.m
Committee Chairperson: John Gooden, MDavis & Sons  John.gooden@mdavisinc.com
ABC Staff Contact Ed Capodanno ecapodanno@abcdelaware.com      


Membership Growth & Development 
Assist ABC staff in recruiting quality oriented firms that develop programs for new member involvement and satisfaction.
Third Thursday 8:30 a.m.
Committee Chairperson: Dale Kerns, The Tri-M Group dkerns@tri-mgroup.com
                                             Veronica Jester, Jamestown Painting vjester@jamestownpainting.com
ABC Staff Contact: Mike Matweychuk  mmatweychuk@abcdelaware.com 

Public Relations
Inform construction users and the general public of the benefits of the Merit Shop philosophy as well as keep members informed of the activities of the association.  Also, administer/oversee our Annual Excellence in Construction Awards program.
Third Tuesday at 11:30 a.m.
Committee Chairperson: Lorri Grayson, GGA Consruction lgrayson@ggabuilds.com
ABC Staff Contact Jean Toman jtoman@abcdelaware.com   

Safety Health & Wellness
Be responsive to ABC members by providing training, information and notification of changing federal, state and local laws.
Third Wednesday of the month at 12 noon. 
Committee Chairperson: Marie Wright Warfel Construction mwright@warfelcc.com
ABC Staff Contact Jean Toman jtoman@abcdelaware.com       

Young Professionals
The Young Professionals Committee will promote networking and relationships within the construction industry and ABC through a series of social events, industry activities and opportunities that will develop the next generation of construction executives.    
First Thursday at 12 Noon
Committee Chairpersons Brian C. Martinenza Jr .ServiceUnlimited     bcmartinenza@suihvac.com
Ryan Weick, Tera Technology rweik@teratechgroup.com
ABC Staff Contact Ed Capodanno ecapodanno@abcdelaware.com Jean Toman jtoman@abcdelaware.com  

 

      

302-328-1111

 
Associated Builders and Contractors
(ABC) is a national association that advances and defends the principles of the merit shop in the construction industry and provides its members with an opportunity to succeed.
The ABC Delaware office is located in the Airport Industrial Park near the intersection of Route 13 & 273 in New Castle.
ABC Delaware
31 Blevins Drive, Suite B
Airport Industrial Park
 New Castle, DE 19720
(302) 328-1111
(302) 323-1122 fax
Kent/Sussex Office
28 the Circle in Georgetown. Located on the 2nd floor of the historic “Richards Mansion”, Georgetown DE  19947
(302) 858-2185

Google+ABC Delaware on Facebook