Associated Builders & Contractors Delaware is a member-driven organization. Members donate their time and expertise to serve on standing and special event committees, helping other members get the most from their membership.

The following is a list of ABC Committees and normal meeting times. Special event committee meet on an as needed basis before the event. ABC members are invited to join committees. Contact the ABC Delaware staff member listed under each committee for more information.

Oversee events and programs throughout the year
including ABC Showcase, Student Awards Dinner, Crab Feast, Summer Golf Outing, Fall Fest and the Annual ABC Delaware Awards Dinner

Chairpersons: Dave Curran, Tri-Supply and Equipment 

Susie Draper, Diamond State Party Rental

ABC Staff Contact: Jean Toman

Members make a difference in the community by giving time and effort to have a positive impact on the quality of life in the First State

Committee Chairperson: Sallie Ann Conner of Schneider Trailer & Container Rental

ABC Staff Contact: Jean Toman    

Careers in Construction

Promote construction as a career with the development and implementation of programs with the high schools and middle schools.

Fourth Tuesday at 11:30 a.m

Committee Chairperson John Johnson, Karins Associates 

ABC Staff Contact: Ed Capodanno  

Membership Growth & Development 

Assist ABC staff in recruiting quality oriented firms that develop programs for new member involvement and satisfaction.

Third Thursday 8:30 a.m.

Committee Chairperson: Tom Lucas, Bancroft 

ABC Staff Contact: Mike Matweychuk 


ABC is committed to supporting efforts to meet challenges and maximize opportunities in an increasingly diverse workforce with an industry that is welcoming to all people

Second Tuesday at 12 noon

Committee Chairperson: Brian Aster, Pettinaro

ABC Staff Contact: Jean Toman 


Provide information on emerging trends in green technology to help Delaware become a healthier and more sustainable environment in which to live and work as well as identify and implement education programs and services that are of benefit to our members. 

Second Tuesday at 8:30 a.m.

Committee Chairperson: Jeff DiSabatino of DiSabatino Construction Company

ABC Staff Contact: Ed Capodanno    Mike Matweychuk

Young Professionals

The Young Professionals Committee will promote networking and relationships within the construction industry and ABC through a series of social events, industry activities and opportunities that will develop the next generation of construction executives.   

Committee Chairpersons Brian C. Martinenza Jr

ABC Staff Contact Ed Capodanno  /  Jean Toman  

Legislative & Legal Rights

Advance the interests of all members by monitoring area labor relations cases and union activities while representing the interests of Merit Shop contractors and their employees in the policy making process of the government.

Fourth Thursday at 8:30 a.m

Committee Chairperson: John Gooden, MDavis & Sons

Co- Chair Joseph Swarter

ABC Staff Contact Ed Capodanno     

Public Relations

Inform construction users and the general public of the benefits of the Merit Shop philosophy as well as keep memebrs informed of the activities of the association.  Also, administer/oversee our Annual Excellence in Construction Awards program.

Second Thursday at 11:30 a.m.

Committee Chairperson: Kevin Thomas of IFS

ABC Staff Contact Jean Toman   

Safety Health & Wellness

Be responsive to ABC members by providing training, information and notification of changing federal, state and local laws.

Third Wednesday of the month at 12 noon. 

Committee Chairperson: Marie Wright of Worth & Company

ABC Staff Contact Jean Toman