Charter Cup Winner 2020

Thomas Dilley Honored with Charter Cup

Tom Dilley of Smucker Company is the winner of the 2020 Charter Cup. This award is presented annually to the ABC contractor member who exemplifies the true meaning of the Merit Shop philosophy and has contributed most to the association.

Tom has shown incredible passion for the protection of free enterprise and open competition in Delaware and is never afraid to speak out on his beliefs. The Smucker Company is a member of multiple ABC chapters in the region and a big supporter of the Merit Shop.

Tom has served on the Board of Directors and held every office in the association including Chair in 2016. He served a 3-year term on the ABC National Board of Directors and he has served on various committees including Legislative/Legal Rights, Membership, Public Relations and Careers in Construction.

Tom has always been one of the first members to step up and help ABC on legislative matters, growing membership or promoting the importance of engaging future leaders into the association to create the next generation of ABC supporters. He was instrumental in developing an Architect, Construction and Engineering (ACE) mentoring program at St. George’s Technical High School focusing specifically on the construction trades.

He has been a strong supporter and contributor of both our local political action committee and national political action committee, which helps elect pro-merit shop ­legislators.  He also encourages other ABC members to get involved and helps them understand the value of participation in our association.

“Tom is one of the most avid supporters of ABC and promotes our association on a daily basis with his employees and friends,” said Edward Capodanno, ABC Delaware President.  “He is constantly advocating careers in construction and the great career it can provide them. He is an individual that truly embodies the spirit of ABC and is well deserving of this award.”

1986S. Kenneth AdamsCoastal Group, Inc.
1987S. Kenneth AdamsPace Electric, Inc.
1988James R. GordonWyman Electrical Service Company
1989Karl KrausKershaw Construction Company
1990Dennis W. NealNeal's Inc.
1991Lawrence J.DiSabatino Construction
1992Ralph G. Degli Obizzi, Sr.Ralph G. Degli Obizzi & Sons, Inc.
1993Daniel N. DelcolloDelcollo Electric, Inc.
1994Verino PettinaroPettinaro Construction Company
1995 John S. BonkM. Davis & Sons, Inc.
1996David "Corky" JacobiJacobi Contractors
1997James A. CerulloWohlsen Construction Company
1998Ronald T. MooerJ.A. Moore & Sons, Inc.
1999John W. Walker, Sr.J.W. Walker & Sons
2000Leonard IaconoDaisy Construction Company
2001Ralph G. DegliRalph G. Degli Obizzi & Sons, Inc.
2002Steven G. DignanPaul A. Nickle
2003John W. Walker, Jr.J.W. Walker & Sons
2004Robert C. SuppeRC Fabricators
2005Richard H. TremlDelcard Associates
2006William B. RobinsonGeorge & Lynch
2007Michael B. BerardiNason Construction
2008Gary DrumhellerSC&A Construction
2009Stanley R. SykoraErco Ceilings, Blinds & Floors
2010Douglas JohnstonBruce Industrial
2011Richard RettigMerit Mechanical
2012Lew MorrisonCounty Group
2013Joe SwarterCustom Iron
2014John GoodenMDavis
2015Joe MorettoPearce & Moretto
2016Sonny TelfordSobieski Life Safety
2017Paul LanganTri-M Group
2018Lorri GraysonGGA Construction
2019Steve LexPettinaro Construction
2020Thomas DilleySmucker Company